Awards & Scholarships

Awards & Scholarships


Life Membership.

Our most recent life membership recognitions can be viewed below;

Jenny Davidson, 2021.

Hugh Wallwork, 2020.

Peter Smith, John Both & Peter Cousins, 2018.

John Lush.

Rob Wheeler.

Neville Sharpe.

Allan Mayfield.

AJ & CM Rathjen & Daughters.

Chris Butler.


Tony Rathjen Student Contribution Award

The Tony Rathjen Student Contribution award has been created by the SA Crop Science Society in memory of the late Professor Tony Rathjen. Tony was a founding member of the Crop Science Society and believed strongly in a vibrant interaction between researchers and farmers. During his long career, Tony was an influential mentor to many students and greatly encouraged innovative thinking and student participation in the debate of agricultural issues.

The Crop Science Society is centred around a monthly newsletter and meeting, which brings the broad agricultural community together for the dissemination of relevant new research, technical advice and emerging issues involved with crop production.

The Tony Rathjen award is designed to encourage students to present their research in a media that is immediately accessible to farmers, as well as to continue his legacy of student participation in the Crop Science Society and the agricultural community.

  • Students are encouraged to prepare an article for the Crop Science Society Newsletter. All student articles published in monthly newsletters will receive $100.
  • The recipient of the main Tony Rathjen Student Contribution will be decided in June and announced at the AGM in July. The student who prepared the best article that highlights excellent agricultural research combined with innovative thinking will be awarded $500. The recipient will present their research at a Crop Science Society meeting.

We encourage students to become affiliated with the CSSSA and make use of the society to assist and publicise their research

Here is more information on the application process and article guidelines, for the Tony Rathjen Student Contribution Award.

Duncan Correll Crop Science Society Awards.

Applications are invited for members to apply for a grant to attend conferences, field days, study tours or any other matter which will benefit the Crop Science Society. Awards are normally limited to $1000 per year.

Applicants will be reviewed by the President and members of the Crop Science Society Travel sub committee, who are ineligible while serving in this capacity.

Recipients of travel awards are required to provide a written report to the Crop Science Society committee within six weeks of returning from the conference or tour including a short two page summary of major findings. They are also asked to give a short presentation at a future Crop Science Society meeting.

Applications should detail reasons for travel and how the travel will benefit the society. Applications can be forwarded to the secretary in writing and should be received at least two months prior to using the award.


John Both Award for excellence in in-field crop research.

In recognition of the late John Both, the Crop Science Society established an award in 2019 for significant contribution to crop protection through in-field crop research.

Nominations are invited from members to recognise a researcher that practices in-field research that has demonstrated significant and enduring contribution to crop science.

The award will consist of

  • A certificate to be presented at a Crop Science event along with an emblazoned item of clothing.
  • Media coverage of the winner.

Inaugural recipient, 2023;

Sam Trengove.


Stefan Schmitt

Crop Science Society of SA